2010 SMT has been in shop for six weeks!

Here be mechanigeeks. Anything technical that is not a teething problem.
User avatar
limeyduffa
900cc
900cc
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:22 am
Country: Australia
City: Adelaide
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 2010 SMT has been in shop for six weeks!

Post by limeyduffa » Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:34 pm

Hi Dave

The next step is giving you the online 2009/10 service manual (it has the wiring diagrams in it) so your mechanic can have a look. Not sure how to get it to you, as it's 15MB in size.

Rus14 has provided the 2011/2012 manual. Will be the same as your bike except for the ABS. Have a look here:

http://www.ktmsmt.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=11932

When your mechanic said wires are hot, does he mean they are physically heated up ?

SuaveDave
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:27 am
Country: Canada
City: Vancouver
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 2010 SMT has been in shop for six weeks!

Post by SuaveDave » Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:10 am

So it's not been over a year since I've ridden my bike. It's a a second mechanic now b ut he's getting nowhere with it. Looking to buy another ECU to try (KTM wouldn't provide one to the dealer to try and refund me if it didn't fix the problem). So my question is if I wanted to do away with the immobilizer hassle, what year of ECU will work with my 2010 SMT?

SuaveDave
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:27 am
Country: Canada
City: Vancouver
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 2010 SMT has been in shop for six weeks!

Post by SuaveDave » Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:20 am

limeyduffa wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:34 pm
Hi Dave

The next step is giving you the online 2009/10 service manual (it has the wiring diagrams in it) so your mechanic can have a look. Not sure how to get it to you, as it's 15MB in size.

Rus14 has provided the 2011/2012 manual. Will be the same as your bike except for the ABS. Have a look here:

http://www.ktmsmt.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=11932

When your mechanic said wires are hot, does he mean they are physically heated up ?
Sorry Limmeyduffa, I just realized that there's a second page of responses! I could PM you my email address for the manual and as far as the "hot" wires are concerned, I'm pretty sure that he meant that they were carrying a positive voltage...

User avatar
limeyduffa
900cc
900cc
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:22 am
Country: Australia
City: Adelaide
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 2010 SMT has been in shop for six weeks!

Post by limeyduffa » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:17 am

Try that link above. Your bike will have identical electrics except for the ABS.

To answer your question about ECU. I would try the wreckers first. In Australia wreckers normally sell parts for half the price of the OEM part and in nearly all cases, wreckers will replace the part if the one they sold you is DOA (dead on arrival). According to the KTM parts lists, the SMT ECU is in all 990 models (right back to 2005), plus in the early 1190 models. You should be able to find one of these models at a wreckers in North America. See link below:

http://www.ktmonlineparts.com.au/part/k ... 00#content

Nb/ In Australia, mechanics get anal about fitting wrecked parts. Work/Health/Safety bullshit. Nanny state paranoia :evil:

RSW46
50cc
50cc
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:07 am
Country: United Kingdom
City: Brentwood
Year: 2012
Model: SMT

Re: 2010 SMT has been in shop for six weeks!

Post by RSW46 » Sun Jun 16, 2019 6:45 pm

Did you get tune ecu and the cable? I had some issues with my bike running a bit rough at around 3500rpm but it was just surging, it wasn't cutting out. I managed to get rid of that by doing a TPS sensor adjustment using tune ecu, followed by an adaption reset. It wasn't all simple however as I had some problems along the way, but if you can get tune ecu it's a very good tool. I'd check the TPS values and like some have already said on here show some images of the screens.

When I say it wasn't all simple along the way, I didn't click adjust throttle cables and the idle speed control the first time so I had a huge flat spot at around 4000rpm because I accidentally changed the TPS to be very out of sync the first time round. Its a similar rev range to where your issue is so it's got to be worth checking the TPS.

Post Reply