How to wire up a sat nav....

Share your bling. Latest Alums, topbox, alarms, gel seat...
Post Reply
terrydel
675cc
675cc
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:34 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Dublin
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange

How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by terrydel » Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:33 pm

Just got a new (to me) garmin zumo 590lm for my SMT, and wondering what the best approach is to wiring it up?
I was thinking to simply power it off the 12v socket, but someone has recommended against this, and also said its difficult/impossible to wire it up to the battery.
Any suggestions from those in the know?

Cheers :D

pk1
675cc
675cc
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:33 pm
Country: uk
City: perth
Year: 2012
Colour: Black

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by pk1 » Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:28 pm

There is a spare connection at the front of the frame . Sitting on the bike look to the right hand of the petrol tank at the front of the frame you will see a small plastic triangle it just pulls open in here you have 2 spare spade connectors your sat nav should just plug into. They are switched from the ignition so no battery drain when engines not on. I have my sat nav and heated grips wired to these.
Hope this helps
cheers
pk

terrydel
675cc
675cc
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:34 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Dublin
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by terrydel » Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:21 pm

pk1 wrote:There is a spare connection at the front of the frame . Sitting on the bike look to the right hand of the petrol tank at the front of the frame you will see a small plastic triangle it just pulls open in here you have 2 spare spade connectors your sat nav should just plug into. They are switched from the ignition so no battery drain when engines not on. I have my sat nav and heated grips wired to these.
Hope this helps
cheers
pk
That's as good a reply as I think I will get mate, spot on!
Very much appreciated.

Terry.

Neilc
125cc
125cc
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:23 am
Country: australia
City: geelong
Year: 2013
Colour: Silver

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by Neilc » Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:07 pm

Actually there is 2 power supplies there 1 is a permanently LIVE NOT switched with ignition and 1 that is controlled by the ignition this is the 1 PK is suggesting both have a + and - wire test them and use the ignition switchable one

pk1
675cc
675cc
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:33 pm
Country: uk
City: perth
Year: 2012
Colour: Black

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by pk1 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:02 am

Now I'm confused don't take much lol . My dealer told me about these wires just said plug in the 2 wires. I believed one was live one switched but both needed to be used?
As there was 2 wires from my sat nav I followed his instructions then just doubled up for my heated grips. Everything has worked fine since even if I have the grips and the sat nav on!
Still on the original battery bike will be 4 yrs old come January still no issues 16k miles only problem so far was a failed side stand switch.
Have tried everything from mv turismo to bmw 1000xr, multistrada 1200 can't find anything that matches the smt for lightness fun and comfort and it can also tour,been to Italy fully loaded 60 litre bag on top of top box and bags on top of hep co Becker panniers no issues still handled 2 up .
It's such an all rounder and comfy I can't see me changing. All the new gizmos electronic suspension in my opinion are to costly for what ? You can adjust it all manually ok it would be nice to press a button. However these mods have taken the cost of good bikes from 9k to 14k to big a jump in my opinion.
I can see why Yamaha sell so many tracers the price is right! However I still think the finish and quality of the components on the smt are superior.
Sorry for the rant a few beers tonight hope you got your sat nav sorted.
Think I'll switch off now.
Cheers
Pk

Neilc
125cc
125cc
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:23 am
Country: australia
City: geelong
Year: 2013
Colour: Silver

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by Neilc » Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:30 am

Pk what I should have said there is 2 sets of 2 one set a positive and negative constantly live one set positive and negative controlled by the ignition switch if your GPS and heated Grips go off with the ignition you have the right ones connected if they were to be wired to the constantly live one your battery would go flat when the bike was turned of very quickly unless you remember to turn the GPS and Grips of at there switches .

terrydel
675cc
675cc
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:34 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Dublin
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by terrydel » Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:41 am

Great posts lads, thanks to both of you.
Hope you enjoyed the beers pk :)

terrydel
675cc
675cc
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:34 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Dublin
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by terrydel » Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:45 am

Just to clarify,I've heated grips already, dealer fitted them. I presume if they wired them up as per what u guys said, to the wires on the ignition, then I still have wires on the ignition availabe for the sat nav? Hopefully I've worded that correctly and it makes sense.Thanks.

Neilc
125cc
125cc
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:23 am
Country: australia
City: geelong
Year: 2013
Colour: Silver

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by Neilc » Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:57 am

Terry NO you will need to piggy back on to the grips connection only one set is ignition controlled

terrydel
675cc
675cc
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:34 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Dublin
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by terrydel » Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:51 am

Neilc wrote:Terry NO you will need to piggy back on to the grips connection only one set is ignition controlled
Nice one Neil, cheers.
I presume there's no issues with doing that?

pk1
675cc
675cc
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:33 pm
Country: uk
City: perth
Year: 2012
Colour: Black

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by pk1 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 9:23 am

Thats how ive done mine with no issues ps i only seem to have 2 spare wires not 4 :?:
maybe a uk thing dont know.
cheers
pk

terrydel
675cc
675cc
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:34 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Dublin
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by terrydel » Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:42 pm

Cheers lads, thanks for the great advice :D
Now if I could only find the time to get round to doing it!

User avatar
kennykjam
125cc
125cc
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 11:13 am
Country: Netherlands
City: Amsterdam
Year: 2012
Model: SMT
Contact:

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by kennykjam » Wed Sep 23, 2015 11:46 am

Search for ACC1 and ACC2 and you will find some nice threads about this topic with pics as well

terrydel
675cc
675cc
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:34 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Dublin
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: How to wire up a sat nav....

Post by terrydel » Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:11 pm

Cheers Kenny, will do :D
Thanks again all, very helpful indeed.

Post Reply