TuneECU

Power, noise, mapping, price, and the ever popular : "More power or just noise?"
Post Reply
User avatar
Buck49x
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:50 am
Country: USA
City: Zion
Year: 2015
Colour: Black & Orange
Model: SMT

TuneECU

Post by Buck49x » Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:33 am

I have a question about the TuneECU cable. I saw on KTM twins that you need to have the SAS removed to use this. Is that true?

Peterk
125cc
125cc
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 7:24 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Wexford
Year: 2008
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: TuneECU

Post by Peterk » Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:24 pm

You do not need to remove the sas system to use tuneECU. It's easy enough to remove if you are thinking about it. Tune ecu is a remapping tool. There is lots of maps available on this site

User avatar
Buck49x
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:50 am
Country: USA
City: Zion
Year: 2015
Colour: Black & Orange
Model: SMT

Re: TuneECU

Post by Buck49x » Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:42 am

Does anyone have any opinions on these products? and if you use these will you still need to use Tuneecu to shut the SAS off and to shut off the O2 sensors? Or do these items just trick the ECU so no need to reprogram?

http://www.rottweilerperformance.com/ro ... gles-pair/

http://www.rottweilerperformance.com/sa ... l-stage-3/

http://www.rottweilerperformance.com/o2 ... ess-steel/

Peterk
125cc
125cc
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 7:24 pm
Country: Ireland
City: Wexford
Year: 2008
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: TuneECU

Post by Peterk » Thu Nov 26, 2015 12:05 am

You can use those to bypass the f1 light that will come up if you dont have them, however it is considered wiser to turn them off as it takes computing load off the ecu. Also the cost of those plugs is more expensive then the cable. So why bother

User avatar
Buck49x
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:50 am
Country: USA
City: Zion
Year: 2015
Colour: Black & Orange
Model: SMT

Re: TuneECU

Post by Buck49x » Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:20 am

So what your saying is if I shut off the SAS with tune ECU I wont need the plugs to fool the ECU? What about the O2 sensors? The rottweiler fueling dongles richen the A/F ratio. If I simply shut off the O2 sensors with TuneECU will that still richen the ratio or no?

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: TuneECU

Post by kevxtx » Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:14 am

I would turn off the SAS with Tune ECU & remove all the pipes & fit blanking plugs, the valve will remain open if it is left on the bike & turned off via Tune ECU.

The O2 sensors are for emission control & will over ride any open loop mapping to 14.7 if they are left connected, the dongles will hold the closed loop A/F around 13.8:1 & will still try & control the closed loop mapping to 13.8:1, turning off the closed loop with Tune ECU will make the A/F ratio what ever the open loop is mapped at, with no intervention from the closed loop.

User avatar
Buck49x
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:50 am
Country: USA
City: Zion
Year: 2015
Colour: Black & Orange
Model: SMT

Re: TuneECU

Post by Buck49x » Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:44 am

Perfect. Thanks for clarifying. With the OEM KTM map being what I am using until I have some money for some slip ons do you think the bike will run better with the O2 sensors turned off or should I leave them on and buy the dongles? The reviews I read says it takes the on/off feeling of the throttle (jerky).

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: TuneECU

Post by kevxtx » Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:44 am

Better to run them off then having the dongle setting the open loop A/F ratio to 13.8:1.

Post Reply