Page 1 of 1

Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:48 pm
by BillyRay123
Hi all, I have just bought a 2017 superduke gt which came with the power parts touring kit. I have bought a tom tom rider sat nav and needs to be hard wired. Can anyone direct me on how to install please? The fixing kit looks pretty easy but do I need to take any of the fairing off? For the wiring loom I saw a video that showed there's some accessory cables on the left hand of the seat, I can find them so would be great full for your advice.

All the best
BillyRay

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:54 pm
by MarkLH69
BillyRay123 wrote:Hi all, I have just bought a 2017 superduke gt which came with the power parts touring kit. I have bought a tom tom rider sat nav and needs to be hard wired. Can anyone direct me on how to install please? The fixing kit looks pretty easy but do I need to take any of the fairing off? For the wiring loom I saw a video that showed there's some accessory cables on the left hand of the seat, I can find them so would be great full for your advice.

All the best
BillyRay
There is a 12v power outlet on the left side of the instruments, behind the screen.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk


Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:25 pm
by BillyRay123
Thanks for the response, sadly with the tom tom the mount for the bike is only hard wired, although it comes with a cigarette charger and car kit it wouldn't work on the bike as the fixing plate is different, was hoping I could have just used the socket you mentioned but not sure I can with this sat nav

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:34 pm
by GaryCulb
Look in your 2017 KTM SDGT manual on p173. You will see that when you remove the instrument panel/ cluster (3 screws & unplug) you find the front ACC1 & ACC2. I have not utilized or checked them but in the past Brown is ground, Red & Black is switched power. The other connection I believe is constant power from the battery.

I ran the power to my NavVI from a PDM60 because, I had several extra electrical accessories.

Best,

Doc :D :D

Image

PS: You also have an rear power supplies ACC1 & ACC2 which are located on the right next to the passenger seat lock. It is on p174 of your 2017 KTM SDGT manual.

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:22 pm
by BillyRay123
Superstar thanks very much for the advice, I'll get it done over the weekend and let you know how I get on! :D

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:14 am
by MarkLH69
BillyRay123 wrote:Superstar thanks very much for the advice, I'll get it done over the weekend and let you know how I get on! :D
That sounds better. Do you need to buy a KTM GPS mount for the TomTom, or does it come with one that fits ?

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk


Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:07 am
by BillyRay123
I bought the ktm gps mount so I'm all good to go now, sure from what you've sent is on my skill set so happy days haha 😂

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:11 pm
by BillyRay123
Hi doc, hope your well? Will these fit?

https://www.maplin.co.uk/p/maplin-minia ... pack-n10hu

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:53 pm
by GaryCulb
Do not know. But, looks like the correct electrical connection. Best,

Doc :? :?

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 9:54 pm
by BillyRay123
Managed to get the sat nav fitted, used acc2 which is the ignition powered connection. Red and black cable was positive and the brown was negative. 👍🏼

Really easy job, thanks for the input everyone. Tried to upload a pic but it comes up with an error.

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:39 am
by GaryCulb
BillyRay123,

Glad it worked out. Did you use the Maplin Miniature Male Spade Connector?? Wonder what would be a similar product avaliable in the USA that would work on the KTM ACC electrical connections??

For photo's I use SMUG (https://www.smugmug.com). One of the Avid Rider Forum guys assited in setting the site up & owns part of it. Best,

Doc :D :D

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:01 am
by BillyRay123
It wasn't the mini ones it was these....

https://www.maplin.co.uk/p/maplin-insul ... blue-jh90x

Amazon will sell them for sure or your local components shop....

I'll have a look at the photo share-thanks.

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:13 am
by BillyRay123
Couple of pics...

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:42 am
by TUBSY
hi is that the lockable sat nav when I fitted mine with the lockable bit on it
was marking the screen when you altered the screen height

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:55 am
by MarkLH69
BillyRay123 wrote:Couple of pics...
Looks great, on my to do list. I tried a zip up bar mount for my phone, but it overheats and shuts down. My bike is mostly commuting though, so it's hard to justify the $

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk


Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:52 pm
by GaryCulb
Went out & tried male spade connectors to ACC1 & ACC2 electical connections under the rear seat. The standard red or blue spad electical male connector works. Found this set on Amazon with the spad electical male connector ( https://www.amazon.com/Accessbuy-Insula ... +connector ). Best,

Doc :D :D

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:46 pm
by BillyRay123
TUBSY wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:42 am
hi is that the lockable sat nav when I fitted mine with the lockable bit on it
was marking the screen when you altered the screen height
Yes that's the one, tom tom 450 premium pack, it will be hard to use the lock but if you push the screen forward like your adjusting it, I can just turn the key without scratching it... it is very close to the screen though 🙈

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:48 pm
by BillyRay123
GaryCulb wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:52 pm
Went out & tried male spade connectors to ACC1 & ACC2 electical connections under the rear seat. The standard red or blue spad electical male connector works. Found this set on Amazon with the spad electical male connector ( https://www.amazon.com/Accessbuy-Insula ... +connector ). Best,

Doc :D :D

Good to hear mate 👍🏼

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:48 pm
by BillyRay123
MarkLH69 wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:55 am
BillyRay123 wrote:Couple of pics...
Looks great, on my to do list. I tried a zip up bar mount for my phone, but it overheats and shuts down. My bike is mostly commuting though, so it's hard to justify the $

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
Cheers pal 👍🏼

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:11 am
by TUBSY
BillyRay123 wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:46 pm
TUBSY wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:42 am
hi is that the lockable sat nav when I fitted mine with the lockable bit on it
was marking the screen when you altered the screen height
Yes that's the one, tom tom 450 premium pack, it will be hard to use the lock but if you push the screen forward like your adjusting it, I can just turn the key without scratching it... it is very close to the screen though 🙈
thanx will have to try mine again took the lock off because it was touching screen