Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post Reply
BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:48 pm

Hi all, I have just bought a 2017 superduke gt which came with the power parts touring kit. I have bought a tom tom rider sat nav and needs to be hard wired. Can anyone direct me on how to install please? The fixing kit looks pretty easy but do I need to take any of the fairing off? For the wiring loom I saw a video that showed there's some accessory cables on the left hand of the seat, I can find them so would be great full for your advice.

All the best
BillyRay

MarkLH69
125cc
125cc
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:30 pm
Country: Australia
City: Perth
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by MarkLH69 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:54 pm

BillyRay123 wrote:Hi all, I have just bought a 2017 superduke gt which came with the power parts touring kit. I have bought a tom tom rider sat nav and needs to be hard wired. Can anyone direct me on how to install please? The fixing kit looks pretty easy but do I need to take any of the fairing off? For the wiring loom I saw a video that showed there's some accessory cables on the left hand of the seat, I can find them so would be great full for your advice.

All the best
BillyRay
There is a 12v power outlet on the left side of the instruments, behind the screen.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk


BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:25 pm

Thanks for the response, sadly with the tom tom the mount for the bike is only hard wired, although it comes with a cigarette charger and car kit it wouldn't work on the bike as the fixing plate is different, was hoping I could have just used the socket you mentioned but not sure I can with this sat nav

GaryCulb
500cc
500cc
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:19 am
Country: USA
City: Sumter
Year: 2017
Location: Sumter, SC
Contact:

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by GaryCulb » Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:34 pm

Look in your 2017 KTM SDGT manual on p173. You will see that when you remove the instrument panel/ cluster (3 screws & unplug) you find the front ACC1 & ACC2. I have not utilized or checked them but in the past Brown is ground, Red & Black is switched power. The other connection I believe is constant power from the battery.

I ran the power to my NavVI from a PDM60 because, I had several extra electrical accessories.

Best,

Doc :D :D

Image

PS: You also have an rear power supplies ACC1 & ACC2 which are located on the right next to the passenger seat lock. It is on p174 of your 2017 KTM SDGT manual.

BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:22 pm

Superstar thanks very much for the advice, I'll get it done over the weekend and let you know how I get on! :D

MarkLH69
125cc
125cc
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:30 pm
Country: Australia
City: Perth
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by MarkLH69 » Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:14 am

BillyRay123 wrote:Superstar thanks very much for the advice, I'll get it done over the weekend and let you know how I get on! :D
That sounds better. Do you need to buy a KTM GPS mount for the TomTom, or does it come with one that fits ?

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk


BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:07 am

I bought the ktm gps mount so I'm all good to go now, sure from what you've sent is on my skill set so happy days haha 😂

BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:11 pm

Hi doc, hope your well? Will these fit?

https://www.maplin.co.uk/p/maplin-minia ... pack-n10hu

GaryCulb
500cc
500cc
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:19 am
Country: USA
City: Sumter
Year: 2017
Location: Sumter, SC
Contact:

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by GaryCulb » Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:53 pm

Do not know. But, looks like the correct electrical connection. Best,

Doc :? :?

BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Sat Jan 06, 2018 9:54 pm

Managed to get the sat nav fitted, used acc2 which is the ignition powered connection. Red and black cable was positive and the brown was negative. 👍🏼

Really easy job, thanks for the input everyone. Tried to upload a pic but it comes up with an error.

GaryCulb
500cc
500cc
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:19 am
Country: USA
City: Sumter
Year: 2017
Location: Sumter, SC
Contact:

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by GaryCulb » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:39 am

BillyRay123,

Glad it worked out. Did you use the Maplin Miniature Male Spade Connector?? Wonder what would be a similar product avaliable in the USA that would work on the KTM ACC electrical connections??

For photo's I use SMUG (https://www.smugmug.com). One of the Avid Rider Forum guys assited in setting the site up & owns part of it. Best,

Doc :D :D

BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:01 am

It wasn't the mini ones it was these....

https://www.maplin.co.uk/p/maplin-insul ... blue-jh90x

Amazon will sell them for sure or your local components shop....

I'll have a look at the photo share-thanks.

BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:13 am

Couple of pics...
Attachments
IMG_5080.JPG
IMG_5081.JPG

TUBSY
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:45 pm
Country: uk
City: hull
Year: 2017
Colour: Silver

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by TUBSY » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:42 am

hi is that the lockable sat nav when I fitted mine with the lockable bit on it
was marking the screen when you altered the screen height

MarkLH69
125cc
125cc
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:30 pm
Country: Australia
City: Perth
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by MarkLH69 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:55 am

BillyRay123 wrote:Couple of pics...
Looks great, on my to do list. I tried a zip up bar mount for my phone, but it overheats and shuts down. My bike is mostly commuting though, so it's hard to justify the $

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk


GaryCulb
500cc
500cc
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:19 am
Country: USA
City: Sumter
Year: 2017
Location: Sumter, SC
Contact:

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by GaryCulb » Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:52 pm

Went out & tried male spade connectors to ACC1 & ACC2 electical connections under the rear seat. The standard red or blue spad electical male connector works. Found this set on Amazon with the spad electical male connector ( https://www.amazon.com/Accessbuy-Insula ... +connector ). Best,

Doc :D :D

BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:46 pm

TUBSY wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:42 am
hi is that the lockable sat nav when I fitted mine with the lockable bit on it
was marking the screen when you altered the screen height
Yes that's the one, tom tom 450 premium pack, it will be hard to use the lock but if you push the screen forward like your adjusting it, I can just turn the key without scratching it... it is very close to the screen though 🙈

BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:48 pm

GaryCulb wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:52 pm
Went out & tried male spade connectors to ACC1 & ACC2 electical connections under the rear seat. The standard red or blue spad electical male connector works. Found this set on Amazon with the spad electical male connector ( https://www.amazon.com/Accessbuy-Insula ... +connector ). Best,

Doc :D :D

Good to hear mate 👍🏼

BillyRay123
125cc
125cc
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:43 pm
Country: Uk
City: Doncastet
Year: 2017

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by BillyRay123 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:48 pm

MarkLH69 wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:55 am
BillyRay123 wrote:Couple of pics...
Looks great, on my to do list. I tried a zip up bar mount for my phone, but it overheats and shuts down. My bike is mostly commuting though, so it's hard to justify the $

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
Cheers pal 👍🏼

TUBSY
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:45 pm
Country: uk
City: hull
Year: 2017
Colour: Silver

Re: Superduke GT sat nav Install

Post by TUBSY » Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:11 am

BillyRay123 wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:46 pm
TUBSY wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:42 am
hi is that the lockable sat nav when I fitted mine with the lockable bit on it
was marking the screen when you altered the screen height
Yes that's the one, tom tom 450 premium pack, it will be hard to use the lock but if you push the screen forward like your adjusting it, I can just turn the key without scratching it... it is very close to the screen though 🙈
thanx will have to try mine again took the lock off because it was touching screen

Post Reply