Fuel range displayed

Post Reply
Clogan
250cc
250cc
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:50 pm
Country: United States
City: Harrison
Year: 2017
Colour: Black & Orange

Fuel range displayed

Post by Clogan » Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:43 pm

I have a 2016 SDGT, and really like it. I'm curious about the fuel range as displayed on the dash. Immediately after a fill up, the fuel range shows "340mi". I presume this means 340 miles to empty. However, it is physically impossible to have a tank range of over 300 miles. I have heard it said that the number displayed as fuel range is actually kilometers, in spite of the display showing "mi" following the digits, and in spite of the units selected in the settings menu.

Anybody know if this is true, and if so, how to edit settings to show miles (not kms) to empty? The mental math to convert is pretty easy, but I'd prefer having it displayed correctly to begin with.

Thanks!
Image
Last edited by Clogan on Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Aussie Dave
900cc
900cc
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:30 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2017

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by Aussie Dave » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:18 am

G'day Mr Clogan,

Have a scroll through the dash menu (this is from memory so forgive me - it's fekin hot here today).

There is a settings screen - try re-setting the kms/miles line....and while there check the fuel cons setting and even the English/American whatever - just to be certain.... ;)

Hopefully that gets it right - my Gt will do over 400kms touring, and about 380kms with some mixed riding (traffic, twisties)......errr, wassat in medi-evil terms, ahhh, (finds calculator :lol: ).....250mls on 22ltrs gas... now that's tricky, US galon is 3.75ltrs (brain is trembling with rust falling off cogs :roll: ).....5.8 US Gal...err I think... :oops: ......approx 43mls/gal(US).......or 50+ mpg (UK).. :)
Now this would be a green superbike if we could do 400mls a tank...eh?
Last edited by Aussie Dave on Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
Current delights...1290GT-2017, CBR1100XX-2005

Prev loves...Capo1200TP-014, CBR11xx-002, 2xFZR1000genisis-94, FJ1200-89, FJ1100-84, XS1100P, VF1000F-83, CX500, VF750S, KZ1000J1-81, KZ1000ST-79, CB750F2-77, CB360T-74, CB175.. started it all in 1974 ;)

Clogan
250cc
250cc
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:50 pm
Country: United States
City: Harrison
Year: 2017
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by Clogan » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:34 am

Thanks, Dave. I've been all through the menu several times, even resetting shift light, and next service interval. Nevertheless, I'll give it another go tomorrow. Couldn't hurt anything, eh?
Ride safely!

Aussie Dave
900cc
900cc
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:30 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2017

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by Aussie Dave » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:52 am

Hmmmm....if it's not a menu thing, maybe it's the fuel float inside the tank - never seen one, but might be it has something out of adjustment/alignment.....tricking the ECU into thinking you're carrying 10 gals of gas ;)
Current delights...1290GT-2017, CBR1100XX-2005

Prev loves...Capo1200TP-014, CBR11xx-002, 2xFZR1000genisis-94, FJ1200-89, FJ1100-84, XS1100P, VF1000F-83, CX500, VF750S, KZ1000J1-81, KZ1000ST-79, CB750F2-77, CB360T-74, CB175.. started it all in 1974 ;)

Clogan
250cc
250cc
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:50 pm
Country: United States
City: Harrison
Year: 2017
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by Clogan » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:00 am

The fuel guage seems to work fine. Computed mpg seems correct as shown on display. Only the distance to empty seems awry...and if it said "km" instead of "mi" after the digits, it would be correct. Consequently, I do the mental math of multiplying the displayed number by 0.6 to get miles to empty. Even tho it says miles akready, it really means kilometers.

Eddie
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 2:53 pm
Country: UK
City: Northumberland
Year: 2016
Model: SMT

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by Eddie » Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:11 pm

Clogan wrote:
Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:00 am
The fuel guage seems to work fine. Computed mpg seems correct as shown on display. Only the distance to empty seems awry...and if it said "km" instead of "mi" after the digits, it would be correct. Consequently, I do the mental math of multiplying the displayed number by 0.6 to get miles to empty. Even tho it says miles akready, it really means kilometers.
That's exactly what I think is the case.

mick shere
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:48 am
Country: UK
City: Plymouth
Year: 2017

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by mick shere » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:06 pm

Great thinking, looking forward applying the x .62 when mine complains I had a suzuki 250 import that had kilometres clocks when I was 17... still carry the mental art of instant (if optimistic) ability to transpose the numbers in my head :D

Striff
250cc
250cc
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:20 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2017

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by Striff » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:28 pm

I'm in Australia, so km's is what I use. But notice on my SDR after film up it is very optimistic on distance to empty.

Why don't you change your settings to km's then check your distance to empty to see if that changes from previous.
That should then tell you if it's stuck on km's to empty or not.


Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


DaveNZ
900cc
900cc
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:20 pm
Country: New Zealand
City: New plymouth
Year: 2016

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by DaveNZ » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:55 pm

Striff wrote:
Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:28 pm
I'm in Australia, so km's is what I use. But notice on my SDR after film up it is very optimistic on distance to empty.

Why don't you change your settings to km's then check your distance to empty to see if that changes from previous.
That should then tell you if it's stuck on km's to empty or not.


Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
The Optimism is from "best case scenario" i guess, My distance to empty has KM after the number, i.e. 320km. so it should either read m=miles, or km=kilometers.
2016 1290GT-remus link and muffler, 2010 Black 1200 Multistrada full Termi system with mapping, 2005 SMR 640, full Titanium system, Mikuni flatside racing carb, 2 sets of wheels, 18 litre tank, and a nice soft seat.

Striff
250cc
250cc
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:20 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2017

Re: Fuel range displayed

Post by Striff » Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:57 am

DaveNZ wrote:
Striff wrote:
Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:28 pm
I'm in Australia, so km's is what I use. But notice on my SDR after film up it is very optimistic on distance to empty.

Why don't you change your settings to km's then check your distance to empty to see if that changes from previous.
That should then tell you if it's stuck on km's to empty or not.


Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
The Optimism is from "best case scenario" i guess, My distance to empty has KM after the number, i.e. 320km. so it should either read m=miles, or km=kilometers.
Ahh if it has km after the number then I would say it has to be in km, and you have found a bug

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


Post Reply