Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Squeaky back brake? Hard to control at 30mph/40kph?
User avatar
KtmWorldJake
125cc
125cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:56 pm
Country: USofA
City: Atlanta
Year: 2012
Colour: White

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by KtmWorldJake » Mon May 14, 2012 2:54 pm

I pick up my 2012 SMT this weekend. I plan to have a top box of some kind. Will be glad to report any event.

The dates on this thread seem a bit off. Has anyone with a 2011+ SMT had a breakage in the subframe/exhaust?

Marcelo
250cc
250cc
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:54 am
Country: Brazil
City: sao paulo
Year: 2010

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by Marcelo » Wed May 23, 2012 12:07 am

news!!!!, after waiting 2 moths my Dealer answered about the Subframe and Y exhaust cracks and.......KTM did not aproved de waranty for these items.......hoooh

This fact is totally incredible, KTM engineers done a poor subframe structural desing in 09/10 models, changed the design in 2011 and not recognize the true!!!! about the Y exhaust cracks is clear a poor weld cracks during fabrication and KTM not recognize too!!!

Spark01
250cc
250cc
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:33 am
Country: NLD
City: Brabant
Year: 2010

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by Spark01 » Wed May 23, 2012 12:13 pm

Marcelo wrote:news!!!!, after waiting 2 moths my Dealer answered about the Subframe and Y exhaust cracks and.......KTM did not aproved de waranty for these items.......hoooh

This fact is totally incredible, KTM engineers done a poor subframe structural desing in 09/10 models, changed the design in 2011 and not recognize the true!!!! about the Y exhaust cracks is clear a poor weld cracks during fabrication and KTM not recognize too!!!
Is your bike still have the factory warranty?

Mine is just out also 2010 model.
But 2 weeks ago me and a tuner discovered that the Throttle bodies where bad adjusted at my bike.
But i never touched them it came like this from the factory.
We did a full adjustment to get the thing wright:
http://advrider.com/forums/showpost.php ... ostcount=1

So i contacted KTM and their only responce was that it will be recorded and never approval of any warrany claim concerning this will be granted..

Marcelo
250cc
250cc
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:54 am
Country: Brazil
City: sao paulo
Year: 2010

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by Marcelo » Mon May 28, 2012 4:53 pm

i did not have faced my last 2 maintenace service in a KTM Dealer...this is the problem actually.

But, both problem there is no realtion with periodic maintance, as I cited, KTM engineers done a poor subframe structural desing in 09/10 models, changed the design in 2011 and not recognize the true!!!! about the Y exhaust cracks is clear a poor weld cracks during fabrication and KTM not recognize too!!!

User avatar
gotgoat
250cc
250cc
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:14 pm
Country: canada
City: quesnel bc
Year: 2010

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by gotgoat » Thu May 31, 2012 5:25 am

I have the 2010 with 20,000 k on it and no cracks in sub frame. I got the local welder to Fab and weld some 6061 aluminum pieces to make it stronger. About 160$. Haven't seen a cracks in the Y piece yet ;)
81gs750e, 76rd400,05wr250,96xr400.

tjader
250cc
250cc
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:09 am
Country: Philippines
City: Davao or Manila
Year: 2010
Colour: Silver

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by tjader » Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:15 am

Thodoras wrote:Does anyone have any suggestions about the problem??
I really need to install a topcase and i hate to have to face a broken subframe on a roadtrip...
I have the 2010 SMT with a givi 46 liter case on it - broke the subframe at 16000kms but I merely welded the crack, filled the hole, and reinforced the broken area. Its at 22,000kms now and no issues are apparent.

jjay69
125cc
125cc
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 2:13 pm
Country: UK
City: London
Year: 2010
Colour: Silver

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by jjay69 » Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:41 am

I also like the idea of a topcase on my '09, but am now having great doubts.. in fact i've now ordered a 50l watertight bag to carry lengthways along the seat and plate instead.

Just a thought, but you guys who've have issues, did you have the bolts still in place in the threaded hole where the weak point is ? on mine these bolts are holding some plastic in place. I wondered if the bolts are not there the area may be even weaker. If the bolts are in place i wonder if they make the area stronger by effectively "filling in" the space and not allowing any extra flexing ?? wishful thinking perhaps ?

As a kind of preventative measure In my typical heath robinson kind of way, I thought about getting some strong steel a similar width to the frame and bolting it top and bottom with a single bolt and some strong wide washers to add some extra strength to the area. Sort of like a steel sandwich. Im no welder.. .

Rangoonruns
990cc
990cc
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:42 am
Country: UK
City: Wolverhampton
Year: 2010
Colour: Silver

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by Rangoonruns » Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:06 pm

I have used a givi v46 when doing trips and no problems to date, sure there are breakages out there, and ktm have done something about future models, but not every 2010 will snap, my advice is keep an eye on it and stop the worryin, get it fixed if you notice any crack initiating / propogating. (there you are? can you tell i am a welding engineer of 22 years in ballistic aluminium? cant say no more top secret.lol)
Image

tjader
250cc
250cc
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:09 am
Country: Philippines
City: Davao or Manila
Year: 2010
Colour: Silver

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by tjader » Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:08 pm

jjay69 wrote:I also like the idea of a topcase on my '09, but am now having great doubts.. in fact i've now ordered a 50l watertight bag to carry lengthways along the seat and plate instead.

Just a thought, but you guys who've have issues, did you have the bolts still in place in the threaded hole where the weak point is ? on mine these bolts are holding some plastic in place. I wondered if the bolts are not there the area may be even weaker. If the bolts are in place i wonder if they make the area stronger by effectively "filling in" the space and not allowing any extra flexing ?? wishful thinking perhaps ?

As a kind of preventative measure In my typical heath robinson kind of way, I thought about getting some strong steel a similar width to the frame and bolting it top and bottom with a single bolt and some strong wide washers to add some extra strength to the area. Sort of like a steel sandwich. Im no welder.. .
What I did with those holes are I filled the 3/4 portion with weld and cut the head of the bolt and welded the bottom part so it juts out - thats where the nut goes to secure the plastic cover. This way means no hole in that joint.

User avatar
bartman_ita
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:43 am
Country: ITALY
City: Catania
Year: 2009
Colour: Silver
Location: Sicily - ITALY

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by bartman_ita » Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:30 am

Same problem with mine :-( (2009)

Image

User avatar
bartman_ita
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:43 am
Country: ITALY
City: Catania
Year: 2009
Colour: Silver
Location: Sicily - ITALY

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by bartman_ita » Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:54 am

after the complete substitution of KTM I reinforced the frame.
But now, after one year, it broke in another place.


Image

Image

Image

User avatar
bartman_ita
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:43 am
Country: ITALY
City: Catania
Year: 2009
Colour: Silver
Location: Sicily - ITALY

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by bartman_ita » Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:53 pm

So the problem is not solved!
Once it used to break down along the main beams, now it's broken on the welding in the "bridge" near the screw.

So, also the new model has the same problem but in another point.

ultrachrome
675cc
675cc
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:14 pm
Country: USA
City: Seattle
Year: 2011
Colour: White

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by ultrachrome » Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:10 pm

I'm confused. Your pics show the newer subframe? Where the welds for reinforcement or had the new frame already cracked?

User avatar
ogden
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1739
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:46 pm
Country: UK
City: London
Year: 2011
Location: Twickenham
Contact:

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by ogden » Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:58 pm

ultrachrome wrote:I'm confused. Your pics show the newer subframe?
Not as far as I can see. The old frame had screwholes just behind the cross-member, and they're still there in the last photo, though somewhat obscured by a gallon of weld. The 2011-on subframe doesn't have those holes, but the photos suggest it's just cracked in other places instead.
ogden
S1000XR | 990SMT | YZF-R6 #7

https://storify.com/eldaifo/istanbul-and-back

User avatar
bartman_ita
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:43 am
Country: ITALY
City: Catania
Year: 2009
Colour: Silver
Location: Sicily - ITALY

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by bartman_ita » Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:13 pm

ultrachrome wrote:I'm confused. Your pics show the newer subframe? Where the welds for reinforcement or had the new frame already cracked?
It's the old subframe (not broken) with a reinforcement.

ultrachrome
675cc
675cc
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:14 pm
Country: USA
City: Seattle
Year: 2011
Colour: White

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by ultrachrome » Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:22 pm

bartman_ita wrote:after the complete substitution of KTM I reinforced the frame.
But now, after one year, it broke in another place.
So you received a new 2009 sub frame, reinforced it, but then it broke in a new place?

User avatar
Duckman
500cc
500cc
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:57 pm
Country: US
City: Houston
Year: 2012
Colour: White
Model: SMT

Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by Duckman » Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:20 pm

I not sure about the older models but the owners manual for my '12 states the rear rack is rated for 18 lbs. I have a Givi 46 I was thinking of using but it weighs 10 lbs empty. That doesn't leave a lot to play with. I decided it wasn't worth it.
Mike
'06 Ducati 999, '07 Ducati S2R1000, '12 KTM 990 SMT
(Sophia, Gina, Brunhilda)

User avatar
bartman_ita
125cc
125cc
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:43 am
Country: ITALY
City: Catania
Year: 2009
Colour: Silver
Location: Sicily - ITALY

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by bartman_ita » Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:10 am

ultrachrome wrote:
bartman_ita wrote:after the complete substitution of KTM I reinforced the frame.
But now, after one year, it broke in another place.
So you received a new 2009 sub frame, reinforced it, but then it broke in a new place?
I received a 2009 model identical. I did the reinforced and then it broke in another, new place.

User avatar
Zooom
500cc
500cc
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:26 pm
Country: USA
City: Gaithersburg
Year: 2010
Location: Gaithersburg, MD USA

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by Zooom » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:42 pm

I am betting to some degree, this somewhat happens based on the profile of said case set up as well...if you have a big case...it in turn catches more wind which puts added stress on the mounting...so perhaps the answer is a lower profile case?
“Men do not quit playing because they grow old, they grow old because they quit playing.” — Oliver Wendell Holmes

Rangoonruns
990cc
990cc
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:42 am
Country: UK
City: Wolverhampton
Year: 2010
Colour: Silver

Re: Topcase causes the subframe to break..!!

Post by Rangoonruns » Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:58 pm

As i see it you have two options... stop loading the rear so much... or fabricate one from steel or aluminium with much thicker wall section.
Sorry mate I dont see an easy fix for you on this one. :cry:
Image

Post Reply