how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post Reply
chuckyboy
125cc
125cc
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:24 am
Country: Philippines
City: Manila
Year: 2017

how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by chuckyboy » Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:23 am

I am thinking of adding dynojet's autotune to my 1290 SDR 1.0 - currently, I have rott airbox, SAS stage 3, PCV with 2 maps from Rott, map switch, arrow cat delete and arrow cans. I am running with this setup for the last 2500kms and it's a thrill to ride. But on low RPM (5k and below) I somehow feel the stock setup is better. There is no doubt that the bike runs better and has more power in the upper rev range. This is different when I did a similar upgrade to my 990 adventure when the improvement is across the rev range from low t high. What did I miss?

So to my question - would autotune help in getting the optimum setup for our SDR? I read from kev's old file that one needs a switch to turn on/off the autotune- how to do this? I also read that this is not a plug and play device like PCV. I am all ears to suggestion guys - thanks again

mrossk
500cc
500cc
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:46 am
Country: usa
City: santa fe
Year: 2015
Contact:

Re: how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by mrossk » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:10 am

I can't help with the AutoTune, but have you added the O2 sensors along with the PCv? Richens up the mixture down low...

chuckyboy
125cc
125cc
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:24 am
Country: Philippines
City: Manila
Year: 2017

Re: how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by chuckyboy » Thu Sep 14, 2017 1:40 am

Yes the dongles are installed that came with PCV - the bike is ok on low rev (not jittery at all) but not as quick as with the stock setup.

Newjerseyduke
675cc
675cc
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 1:31 pm
Country: Usa
City: Riverdale , NJ
Year: 2015

Re: how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by Newjerseyduke » Thu Sep 14, 2017 1:54 am

2015 SDR 1290

chuckyboy
125cc
125cc
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:24 am
Country: Philippines
City: Manila
Year: 2017

Re: how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by chuckyboy » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:09 am

I am tempted by this openflush solution - would love to hear from few more people about their/your experience :-)

And since I have the PCV, I would think autotune is an easier route??

User avatar
Spiff
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:05 pm
Country: United States
City: Las Vegas
Year: 2010

Re: how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by Spiff » Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:18 am

Why not just get your bike dyno tuned. The shop I go to makes it pretty affordable as long as you buy parts from them. The bonus is one and done. You never have to worry about it again .

chuckyboy
125cc
125cc
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:24 am
Country: Philippines
City: Manila
Year: 2017

Re: how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by chuckyboy » Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:13 am

dynotune vs autotune?
looks like not so many people are into autotune as I thought.

User avatar
Spiff
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:05 pm
Country: United States
City: Las Vegas
Year: 2010

Re: how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by Spiff » Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:44 pm

If you start with a map that is close, it doesn't take a good tuner much to clean it up for you bike. All the bikes I have had tuned were noticeably improved. My Aprilia sxv I just sold was transformed.

We really don't need more power, just grab a gear. The difference is how intuitive, and connected the bike will feel. On/off throttle, no hanging rpms, you can see where I'm going with this. I don't want to knock another's way though. Lots of ways to skin a cat, and most work, but this is my experience. I would find a race shop where the guys who do the wrenching either race, or used to. They are the one who do it for the love of it.

chuckyboy
125cc
125cc
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:24 am
Country: Philippines
City: Manila
Year: 2017

Re: how good is dynojet's autotune?

Post by chuckyboy » Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:45 am

@Spiff - good point and thanks
I am using 2 maps from Rottweiler so it should be close to what I am really after 8-)
a little fine tuning as you suggested by a good dyno/mechanic should help

Post Reply