1290 PCV Power Commander

downunder
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:23 am
Country: Australia
City: Mount Gambier
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by downunder » Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:06 am

Kev, add me to the list of confused people.
I fitted the PCV and A/T 300 a week or so ago, and though not been riding much, it seems to be doing what it should.
I wired the A/T into the alarm(?) live feed following your instructions on the PC, didn't do a print out.
You have now changed it to the ACC/relay setup.
Is it safe to assume the original set up is OK (I won't be fitting an alarm at any point)?
Gone but not forgotten: '74 Honda XL100, '75 Suzi TS100, '76 Suzi T500, '78 Yam XT500, '80 Suzi GSX1100ET, '81 Suzi GSX100EX, '84 Honda VF1000R, '99 Honda CBR900RR, '10 KTM 990SMT

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:36 am

We have had 2 unexplained immobilizers pack up & they both had an Auto Tune fitted, we are not sure at this stage if the Auto Tune had any part of the cause of the problem, to be safe I moved my power supply for the Auto Tune to the ACC wires through a relay as in my installation instructions.

downunder
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:23 am
Country: Australia
City: Mount Gambier
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by downunder » Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:53 pm

Thanks for that, I have disconnected the AT power lead and I'll get a relay tomorrow.
In the meantime, I'm hoping it's just my paranoia, but prior to this did the immobiliser light flash intermittently when the bike was switched off?
Coz it doesn't now. Starts and runs OK.
Gone but not forgotten: '74 Honda XL100, '75 Suzi TS100, '76 Suzi T500, '78 Yam XT500, '80 Suzi GSX1100ET, '81 Suzi GSX100EX, '84 Honda VF1000R, '99 Honda CBR900RR, '10 KTM 990SMT

FFlash
500cc
500cc
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 6:08 pm
Country: USA
City: Portville
Year: 2014
Colour: Black

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by FFlash » Fri Oct 10, 2014 1:20 pm

MI just got my bike back from the dealer after they installed the PCV, A/T and switch.

They had a heck of a time starting with the PCV coming with the wrong electrical fittings. That was resolved a few days later when the correct fittings arrived.

Their next issue was with installing the A/T. Problem they had was that running the A/T with its sensors on the ACC circuit set off an overload fault. They jury-rigged it by talking fused power directly from the battery. My read is that there is a problem with either my A/T unit or O2 sensors drawing an excessive amount of power. Does this make sense?

Right now I've got to go out and put a charger on my bike because I forgot to turn the A/T off last night after getting back from the dealer. It's not on a switched circuit.

User avatar
Danish-Rider
500cc
500cc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:26 pm
Country: Denmark
City: Aarhus
Year: 2017
Colour: White
Model: SMT

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Danish-Rider » Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:06 pm

Hey Kev.

You are still using the 1190 pcv, right ?

Are you sure the ignition module will work for the 1190 pcv, as it is not listed there ?

BTW., as an electrician, i like the relay solution much better, will also switch to this :D
Thanks

Peter :-)

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:15 am

That was the first question that came to my mind so we spoke to Dyno jet Australia while I was on the Dyno & they can't say either, looking at the firmware of the 1190 PCV it should able to be activated, it only uses the CAN BUS between the devices for the TPS signal, if not no problem I will get a 1290 PCV & sell my 1190 one. I fitted Kev2 1290 PCV today & his firmware & my 1190 firmware are the same & above what is needed to activate the ignition, I guess I will be the first again to try an fitting the ignition module to a 1190 PCV.

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:31 pm
Country: USA
City: Livermore California
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Bootworks » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:48 am

I've had good luck with a power distribution module on a K1600GT I recently sold. This is one of the safest and cleanest ways to power up accessories and a number of the ports are switched. No need for fuses, all electronic. Rowes Electronics PDM60, about US$200.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UES2kHp9so

stagger
500cc
500cc
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:02 pm
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014
Location: Brisbane

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by stagger » Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:51 pm

Bootworks wrote:I've had good luck with a power distribution module on a K1600GT I recently sold. This is one of the safest and cleanest ways to power up accessories and a number of the ports are switched. No need for fuses, all electronic. Rowes Electronics PDM60, about US$200.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UES2kHp9so
Thanks for that. It looks like exactly what I need. (and needed on my last two bikes). I am running a dual port USB directly from the battery for phone as a GPS and the battery poor, GoPro. While the USB block is fused, it is always live.
Stagger
2014 KTM SDR 1290

Kometes
125cc
125cc
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 4:01 am
Country: Australia
City: Sydney
Year: 2014
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Kometes » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:26 pm

How'd you go with the dyno & map kev?

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:34 pm

Results coming soon.

FFlash
500cc
500cc
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 6:08 pm
Country: USA
City: Portville
Year: 2014
Colour: Black

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by FFlash » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:01 pm

anyone have a clue as to why my 1290 A/T setup sucks up too much power for the 1290 switched ACC line?

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:30 pm

FFlash wrote:anyone have a clue as to why my 1290 A/T setup sucks up too much power for the 1290 switched ACC line?
The ignition switched ACC line is ECU controlled & can not take the load that is why I fitted a relay & use that to power up my Auto Tune via direct battery load. Running two O2 sensor heaters sucks up quite a bit of load on the circuit.

FFlash
500cc
500cc
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 6:08 pm
Country: USA
City: Portville
Year: 2014
Colour: Black

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by FFlash » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:45 pm

kevxtx wrote:
FFlash wrote:anyone have a clue as to why my 1290 A/T setup sucks up too much power for the 1290 switched ACC line?
The ignition switched ACC line is ECU controlled & can not take the load that is why I fitted a relay & use that to power up my Auto Tune via direct battery load. Running two O2 sensor heaters sucks up quite a bit of load on the circuit.

Duh, I think I read that and simply didn't pay attention. Sorry for being dense kevxtx!

I just ordered this Denali PowerHub 2, gives switched, non-switched source, non digital run but $100 less than the unit above: http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/dena ... ess-module

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:31 pm
Country: USA
City: Livermore California
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Bootworks » Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:43 pm

I installed a PCV & AT-300 on my 1290; The instructions are clear: "Do not set the TPS on a throttle-by-wire bike." The auto-tune, when running, shows a TPS value of zero at idle and it goes to 100 off idle: Is that right?

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:16 pm

Yes that is right, but I reset my bass idle voltage for my bike at idle by typing in the voltage at the displayed idle voltage & then reset the 100% throttle voltage on the Dyno so I know my TPS voltage are 100% correct.

The 100% throttle opening can only be set on a Dyno this is because we only start to see 100% throttle plate openings over 6500rpm because of the fly by wire system.

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:31 pm
Country: USA
City: Livermore California
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Bootworks » Sat Oct 25, 2014 1:49 am

Thanks, Kev! So we were able to finalize the tune, Alex came out muttering "One fifty-eight". The main thing to me is how smooth and tractable the engine is now...It had power to spare before. Thing is a hoot!

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Sat Oct 25, 2014 2:50 am

I never look at the max HP & Torque results as most Dyno's never read the same, it is the before & after runs that I only look as this shows us the try gains. Any chance I can get a copy of your map & all mods fitted to share with the boys?

There is nothing like a custom tune the bike just feels right everywhere in the RPM range, that is why I always spend the money on them as I want to get the most out of my motor.

dmacl
250cc
250cc
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:58 pm
Country: United Kingdom
City: NE Scotland
Year: 2013
Colour: Black

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by dmacl » Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:07 am

kevxtx wrote:The 100% throttle opening can only be set on a Dyno this is because we only start to see 100% throttle plate openings over 6500rpm because of the fly by wire system.
I don't suppose you've a plot of throttle plate position vs RPM with the hand control at 100%? Be interesting to see if the throttle curve affects the power production, and if KTM have used it as a way to restrict things a little.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:09 am

The EPC is definitely restricting the power on these 1290's. You can see it on the Dyno, crack the throttle open & the throttle plate takes a long to reach 100%.

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:31 pm
Country: USA
City: Livermore California
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Bootworks » Sat Oct 25, 2014 4:02 pm

kevxtx wrote: Any chance I can get a copy of your map & all mods fitted to share with the boys?
I'm on it. Just have to figure out exactly how... (Apple guy out of the water in the PC world.)

Post Reply