1290 PCV Power Commander

mattchoosmith
125cc
125cc
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:54 am
Country: Australia
City: Melbourne
Year: 2014
Colour: Black
Location: Melbourne

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by mattchoosmith » Thu Sep 18, 2014 9:22 am

mintpaul wrote:
mattchoosmith wrote:
kevxtx wrote:I will have a custom map in the coming weeks for the Rottweiler air box on the 1290 built for our Ozzy fuels.
That's great!
I ordered all the kit tonight so hopefully will have it by the time you have your map worked out.
Exhaust is already on its way so should be here too.

Next step to start researching quality dyno places in Melbourne :shock:

Check out Dynoverks in Boronia

Thanks for the tip............will do!

OZsuperduker
500cc
500cc
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:32 am
Country: Australia
City: Melbourne
Year: 2014
Model: SMT

1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by OZsuperduker » Fri Sep 19, 2014 12:19 pm

mattchoosmith wrote:
mintpaul wrote:
mattchoosmith wrote: That's great!
I ordered all the kit tonight so hopefully will have it by the time you have your map worked out.
Exhaust is already on its way so should be here too.

Next step to start researching quality dyno places in Melbourne :shock:

Check out Dynoverks in Boronia

Thanks for the tip............will do!

Stay away from Dynoverks!

I would take my bike to Phil Tainton Racing

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:31 pm
Country: USA
City: Livermore California
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Bootworks » Sun Sep 21, 2014 2:53 am

Quick question: About to install a AT-300 on the 1290. The Dynojet provided lambas extend further than the stock ones: No interference there?

I ask because I used the stock bores to weld the 18mm bungs on a Duc Pikes Peak and found the rear interfered with the swingarm when the suspension compressed. Had to plug it and rebore further downstream.
On the 1290 the front sensor will be right below a rad hose...Hopefully there is enough clearance?

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:09 am

Bootworks wrote:Quick question: About to install a AT-300 on the 1290. The Dynojet provided lambas extend further than the stock ones: No interference there?

I ask because I used the stock bores to weld the 18mm bungs on a Duc Pikes Peak and found the rear interfered with the swingarm when the suspension compressed. Had to plug it and rebore further downstream.
On the 1290 the front sensor will be right below a rad hose...Hopefully there is enough clearance?
Have a read in my 1290 mod thread I talk about off setting the front 18mm O2 sensor before welding the in the 18mm bung.

dflowers
900cc
900cc
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:08 am
Country: USA
City: Seattle
Year: 2010
Colour: White

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by dflowers » Thu Oct 02, 2014 12:02 am

I am not going with the AT300 on this bike because I don't want to do mods to the pipes. For now I am running the Akra map in the ECU and a zero map in the PCV with the Rottweiler filter and the full Akra exhaust.

downunder
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:23 am
Country: Australia
City: Mount Gambier
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by downunder » Sat Oct 04, 2014 5:40 am

Dumb question 128(b):
When setting Autotune AFR targets, do I leave all zero's in the 0% throttle column?
I have 2-80% @ 13.2:1 and 100% @ 13.0:1
After the first run it only made moderate changes to Stagger's map, except for the 0% throttle colomn - all over the place +/- 20.
Possibly coz I was closing the throttle a lot like a girly girl.....my goodness it's fast :shock:
Gone but not forgotten: '74 Honda XL100, '75 Suzi TS100, '76 Suzi T500, '78 Yam XT500, '80 Suzi GSX1100ET, '81 Suzi GSX100EX, '84 Honda VF1000R, '99 Honda CBR900RR, '10 KTM 990SMT

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:40 am

A/F ratio targets are correct, you only A/T the zero throttle zone once & save it, if you keep A/T it will keep pulling fuel out or adding fuel of the Zero column & the A/F ratio will be wrong. Dyno Jet don't recommend you A/T the zero area.

downunder
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:23 am
Country: Australia
City: Mount Gambier
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by downunder » Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:59 am

Thanks, but still a bit confused.
So if I leave the 0% column full of zeroes, will the AT keep changing fuel each time I accept the trims?
Or can you accept the rest of the chart (2-100%) and ignore the 0% adjustments.
I have only saved trims once today (with +/- 20 adjustments in 0% column).
If my method is wrong I can reload Stagger's map and start again.
Gone but not forgotten: '74 Honda XL100, '75 Suzi TS100, '76 Suzi T500, '78 Yam XT500, '80 Suzi GSX1100ET, '81 Suzi GSX100EX, '84 Honda VF1000R, '99 Honda CBR900RR, '10 KTM 990SMT

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Sat Oct 04, 2014 9:26 am

What I mean by only A/T the zero throttle once is to take the revs beyond 6000rpm in a gear & shut the throttle & wait for the revs to reach 2000rpm pull the clutch in turn the key off & save the zero zone to the PCV map, then make all the zero zone trim tables 0 so the Auto tune does not adjust the zero zone any more & send that map to the bike.

I think it is best you make all the Auto Tune zero throttle zones 0 so the A/T does not correct this area.

abc
500cc
500cc
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:15 am
Country: australia
City: Somewhere
Year: 2014
Model: SMT

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by abc » Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:33 pm

Can someone post a pic showing an arrow to the correct wire to give power to the Auto Tune module please. I dont know which wires are powered when ignition is on.
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:21 am

In my installation thread viewtopic.php?f=29&t=6511&start=180

abc
500cc
500cc
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:15 am
Country: australia
City: Somewhere
Year: 2014
Model: SMT

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by abc » Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:28 am

Because wiring is not my thing, I dont understand what the T numbers mean Kev and I dont want to cook any wires. The instructions from Dynojet say "use the taillight wire. Is there a single wire that someone can point out to me where I can just attach the AT power wire. Sorry for not understanding.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:32 am

Every relay comes with number on them connect the wires as per my diagram.http://img.ebest24.net/w20/x1/p76/ia93_3.jpg

The tail light wire runs through the central electrics not sure it has the load capabilities to run the Auto Tune, the instructions are for a normal analogue wired tail light.

Image

abc
500cc
500cc
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:15 am
Country: australia
City: Somewhere
Year: 2014
Model: SMT

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by abc » Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:44 am

Thanks Kev but Im still a little lost
A better question for me to ask is which pin on the relay pictured corresponds to which T number :oops:

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:28 am

T = terminal on the relay, ie T30 is pin 30 on the relay, T87 is pin 87 on the relay.

All explained in my Auto Tune install thread link posted 4 posts up.

I used the ACC connectors in the luggage compartment & fitted a relay in 2 min's no modification to the bikes wiring, you can use any car 12v 4 pin relay 15amps to 30amps, how it works is when we turn the key on ACC2 powers up the relay, then the ACC1 circuit is activated & supplies the Auto Tune with direct battery positive, you can fit a 15amp fuse on the Auto Tune circuit if you want.

ACC2 Brown = T85 on the relay
ACC2 ignition + = T86 on the relay
ACC1 battery + = T30 on the relay
Auto Tune + = T87 on the relay

Image

abc
500cc
500cc
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:15 am
Country: australia
City: Somewhere
Year: 2014
Model: SMT

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by abc » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:32 am

Ok thanks, so I assume the pins coming out of the relay are marked with their number.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:48 am

You got it.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Fri Oct 10, 2014 1:38 am

PCV ignition module, ordered mine today.

Image

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:31 pm
Country: USA
City: Livermore California
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Bootworks » Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:57 am

Hey Kev, hope your shoulder is getting better!
Say, I'm a bit confused: The PCV is ignition ready...You say "PCV ignition, ordered mine today": What's there to order?

Oh wait, never mind, it's under "Coming Soon": http://www.powercommander.com/powercomm ... odule.aspx
Man, you must have some pull with DynoJet to get this -not released yet- technology! :D

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4731
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:03 am

Just know a few people in the right place, Stagger & I will get the first two coming to Oz. :D

Post Reply