1290 PCV Power Commander

Tancakar
675cc
675cc
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 11:42 pm
Country: UK
City: London
Year: 2016

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Tancakar » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:50 pm

try to calibrate my throttle on Power commander 5, when i started idle was 4% throttle and i sort that out, now its 0% on idle but when twist full throttle i get only 20% and the voltage saying 1.6 V .

my normal idle voltage when the engine running is 0.554 and the full throttle 1.6 v

i cant figure out what i am doing wrong , i have got a throttle hanging problem so i am about to adjust Throttle bodies i though i do this first but this happen.

What you guys think? what i am missing ?

martinm
125cc
125cc
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 8:25 pm
Country: england
City: leicester
Year: 2015
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by martinm » Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:47 pm

had similar issue with mine.type a manual figure in the 100% throttle box of 3.735. it wont be exact for your bike but will be close. the only way you can find the 100% throttle voltage is on a dyno or I read someone had their bike on a paddock stand in 6th gear and held the throttle open.guess you would need mtc switched off. not brave enough to do that myself. :shock:

Tancakar
675cc
675cc
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 11:42 pm
Country: UK
City: London
Year: 2016

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Tancakar » Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:54 pm

the problem is when i twist the throttle fully its doesnt pass 20%

martinm
125cc
125cc
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 8:25 pm
Country: england
City: leicester
Year: 2015
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by martinm » Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:21 pm

20% on the power commander screen? if yes go in to calibrate drop down box from power commander tools.if your bike is running and throttle position on idle is 0% that is ok but click in the box to the right for full throttle or maximum voltage (cant remember what it says) and try typing in 3.735 or 3.795 then click ok.

Freude am Fahren
500cc
500cc
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:41 pm
Country: USA
City: Miami
Year: 2016
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Freude am Fahren » Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:49 am

Is your bike running, or just keyed on? I notice I only get 20% in the PCV screen with the engine off, but ignition on (haven't turned it on and gone full throttle with a computer plugged in). But when I go out and ride, I do see 100% on my Pod300.

Tancakar
675cc
675cc
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 11:42 pm
Country: UK
City: London
Year: 2016

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Tancakar » Mon Apr 03, 2017 1:22 am

no the bike is not running! just the ignition is on, at full throttle. may be it is that.

JDS1290SDr
675cc
675cc
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 9:20 am
Country: Canada
City: Edmonton
Year: 2015
Colour: Black

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by JDS1290SDr » Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:13 am

20% is all I got from my PCV5 as well. Don't worry about it.
PRESENT STABLE
2015 Black SDR
2010 450 SXF
2010 450 XC-W Six days
2010 Ducati Multistrada
2010 Victory Cross Country
PAST
Way to many to mention

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4700
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Mon Apr 03, 2017 3:13 am

This is normal for a ETV throttle control.

Tancakar
675cc
675cc
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 11:42 pm
Country: UK
City: London
Year: 2016

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Tancakar » Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:25 pm

is the voltage normal Kevin ? 1.5

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4700
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by kevxtx » Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:33 pm

Tancakar wrote:is the voltage normal Kevin ? 1.5
With the bike not on the Dyno 1.6V will be around 20% ETV open, hand TPS can read 100%.

Have a look at my MT09 on the Dyno look at the EVT & TPS readings they are rarely the same, use the pause button to capture the differences: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j25W26z5bsE

Tancakar
675cc
675cc
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 11:42 pm
Country: UK
City: London
Year: 2016

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by Tancakar » Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:09 pm

i have start the engine warm up and then do the procedure of calibration again with the engine not working now its all sorted !
it gives 0% on idle and full throttle it gives 100% when the engine is not working, obvisuly when i start the engine it still says 0% but couldnt check the full throttle as i dont have a dyno, but should be ok.

Now its time to do a proper Throttle bodies adjusting. i had a manometer and will be doing the adjustment on the vacuum when the engine is running, and hoping it will sort out the hanging throttle if not i will remove all the performance things and live the bike alone with a cat and OEM ECU. (2016 Ktm Super Duke 1290 GT)

once when i did the 'KTMGUY' s mechanic throttle sync , i seem to get rid of the hanging problem but when you put the bike on a Manometer its so off that its sad :)

Hope i will sort it. And when i finish i will send a video hopefully :)

vet57air
675cc
675cc
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 5:46 am
Country: Canada
City: Port Alberni
Year: 2016
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: 1290 PCV Power Commander

Post by vet57air » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:29 pm

Can anyone share experience from ordering a PC5 and Autotune from Motomummy? Significant savings over
Dynojet or Rottweiller.
Does the PV5 come with 18mm bungs and are they stainless steel?

Post Reply