owl
250cc
250cc
City: Canterbury
Year: 2016
Colour: White

Front brake issue

Post by owl » Sun May 08, 2016 2:02 pm

I'm new to KTM's, and have just spent the weekend running the thing in.

The front brake has a bad judder, especially when braking hard. On my other bikes I would have thought I had a warped disc, or even very worn pads.

I've not seen another topic on this - surely this cannot be the norm on a SDR?

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
City: Livermore California
Year: 2014

Re: Front brake issue

Post by Bootworks » Sun May 08, 2016 3:33 pm

I few of us have had stock rotor issues, mine was most obvious at parking-lot speeds. My dealer replaced them under warranty, although it took a bit of persuasion on the dealers part because manufacturers look at rotors as consumables.

owl
250cc
250cc

Post by owl » Sun May 08, 2016 6:48 pm

Thanks for that.

Consumables? Not at 600 bloody miles its not :-)

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
City: Livermore California

Post by Bootworks » Mon May 09, 2016 3:54 pm

Precisely what I said. Except I used a bit stronger language than 'bloody'.

owl
250cc
250cc

Post by owl » Mon May 09, 2016 7:16 pm

Ha! We will see what the dealers say on Friday when it goes in for the 1st service.

owl
250cc
250cc

Post by owl » Fri May 13, 2016 1:19 pm

Update: I had the first service done this morning, and mentioned the judder to the dealer. They measured the discs (SE model with wavy discs) and found that they were slightly warped, and have ordered a new set under warranty with no argument.

owl
250cc
250cc

Post by owl » Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:34 pm

Update: I had the wavy disc rotors changed today, and they fitted new brake pads as well, in case they were damaged.

All brake judder gone and its a much better bike to ride now.

I was very pleased with the dealer & KTM response - there was never any argument or even hesitation to get the job done under warranty.

Gary
675cc
675cc
City: Atlanta
Year: 2015
Colour: Black