Power commander really necessary?

Here be mechanigeeks. Anything technical that is not a teething problem.
Post Reply
User avatar
roblund6
250cc
250cc
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:07 pm
Country: England
City: Worcester
Year: 2010
Model: SMT
Location: Worcester

Power commander really necessary?

Post by roblund6 » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:44 am

Sorry folks, but I really am like a, 'rabbit-in-the-headlights' when trying the internet to search for anything, I get side tracked soooo easily.

Simple question to probably most of you, is fitting a power commander necessary? What can you do with it, and without it? (And what does PCV mean?)

Current set up. (2010 UK model with only 5k miles on her!!)

1. Full Akrapovic exhaust system with full Ti manifolds. (fitted by main dealer where I bought her from brand new)

2. SAS fully removed when bought new from main dealer.

3. Shorai lithium battery fitted.

4. Standard airbox removed, secondary butterflies and shafts removed, ready to fit a Rottweiler filter kit. (done myself) I'm going to drill and tap the empty shaft holes to 8mm, fit bolts long enough to slightly protude into the throttle body bores with seals mounted behind the heads, then use a small router, like a Dremel or the likes to make sure the end of the bolts are flush with the bores of the throttle bodies.

5. Akrapovic carbon fibre front and rear mud guards, and chain guard. Carbon fibre hand guards, seat cowlings, fairing sections also in carbon fibre.

6. Countless Ti bolts anodised in 'purple-haze' (to match the purple/blue colour of the manifolds) fitted all over the place including full set of engine casing bolts from Pro-bolt. (Based 300 yards from the main dealer where I got the bike conveniently!)

Cable as recommended here somewhere purchased approx £26 to plug my bike into a pc, Tune ECU software downloaded. (Have to watch youtube videos on how to use it yet!)

No doubt it will have to be remapped, but, yet again, I could not find a map that is specific to this set up. Bearing in mind I ALWAYS use ultimate/premium unleaded.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

morotjos
50cc
50cc
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:04 am
Country: Sweden
City: Goteborg
Year: 2017

Re: Power commander really necessary?

Post by morotjos » Sat Feb 10, 2018 1:44 pm

roblund6 wrote:(And what does PCV mean?)
Power Commander V,
V as in the roman letter for nr. 5
It’s the fifth generation of Power Commanders manufactured by company Dynojet.


User avatar
jhalfhide
675cc
675cc
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:39 pm
Country: United Kingdom
City: East Sussex
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange
Contact:

Re: Power commander really necessary?

Post by jhalfhide » Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:17 pm

No need to get a Power Commander at all. TuneECU programs the ECU directly and therefore you have no need to have a PCV unit sitting there piggybacking on the ECU.

TuneECU is very easy to use. Takes a few minutes to upload a new map.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Now: 2013 KTM 990 SMT
Old: 2010 Ducati Faultistrada 1200s (Broke)
Old: 2007 Yamaha R1 (Sold)
Old: 2009 KTM 990 SMR (Stolen)
Old: 2008 Ducati 848 (Written off... whilst parked :roll: )
Old: 2007 ZX6R (Written off... elderly driver)
Old: 1996 ZX6R (Sold)

User avatar
roblund6
250cc
250cc
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:07 pm
Country: England
City: Worcester
Year: 2010
Model: SMT
Location: Worcester

Re: Power commander really necessary?

Post by roblund6 » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:02 am

Thank you for the replies, now I know. I must admit I did post on the ktm SMT group within facebook, and got the same answers, but I wanted to be absolutely sure, as I certainly do not want a blown engine!!
I'm glad I never took her into a garage to have the work done because they both told me I required a power commander, so all they were interested in was making as much money as possible.
Thanks again, Rob.

User avatar
roblund6
250cc
250cc
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:07 pm
Country: England
City: Worcester
Year: 2010
Model: SMT
Location: Worcester

Re: Power commander really necessary?

Post by roblund6 » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:17 am

During the strip down, I found the shop where I bought her from brand new, had not fully removed the SAS system, they left the item in the photo, with a hose connector blanked off. To remove this completely, I was watching a video that shows all you need is a 22k ohm 1/2 watt resistor, which you connect to the bike side connector, then you can discard the item in the photo attached. What confused me was when I metered across the two wires on the device in the photo, I had a reading of 19.2 ohms, or does this item change resistance under vacuum, or pressure?
Thanks again, in advance, and sorry for being a pain, Rob.
Attachments
SAS component.jpg

User avatar
jhalfhide
675cc
675cc
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:39 pm
Country: United Kingdom
City: East Sussex
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange
Contact:

Re: Power commander really necessary?

Post by jhalfhide » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:45 am

No need to mess about with resistors. Just untick the box on TuneECU and it’s disabled.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Now: 2013 KTM 990 SMT
Old: 2010 Ducati Faultistrada 1200s (Broke)
Old: 2007 Yamaha R1 (Sold)
Old: 2009 KTM 990 SMR (Stolen)
Old: 2008 Ducati 848 (Written off... whilst parked :roll: )
Old: 2007 ZX6R (Written off... elderly driver)
Old: 1996 ZX6R (Sold)

User avatar
roblund6
250cc
250cc
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:07 pm
Country: England
City: Worcester
Year: 2010
Model: SMT
Location: Worcester

Re: Power commander really necessary?

Post by roblund6 » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:34 am

Bloody hell, even better, thank you!

Post Reply