990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Here be mechanigeeks. Anything technical that is not a teething problem.
User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4728
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:44 am

I would carry out the 15min cold start idle adaption first, then would only set the TPS voltage at the bikes operating temperature, yes you turn the TPS to get the desired TPS voltage.

Mich69
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:34 am
Country: The Netherlands
City: Amsterdam
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Mich69 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:29 am

Thanks for the ultra fast reply Kev!
In case I should adjust the TPS voltage, must I than reload the map again and do the 15 min reset again?
Cheers.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4728
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:47 am

Any map change should have a new cold start idle adaption, any change within that map besides turning on/off the O2 sensors does not require a cold start adaption. Any TPS adjustment should have a cold start adaption to learn the new setting.

Mich69
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:34 am
Country: The Netherlands
City: Amsterdam
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Mich69 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:55 am

kevxtx wrote:Any map change should have a new cold start idle adaption, any change within that map besides turning on/off the O2 sensors does not require a cold start adaption. Any TPS adjustment should have a cold start adaption to learn the new setting.
Noted and understood, thanks again!

Mich69
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:34 am
Country: The Netherlands
City: Amsterdam
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Mich69 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:48 am

Last evening I had a chance to take my bike for a proper spin using map #13.

Holy moly! Definitely a noticeable difference. Smooth is the word, from the lower- to the higher rev ranges. The bike also seems rev happier than before. On the tacho the idling seems to be higher than 1410 rpm. Also the lesser engine break I have not noticed, it actually felt to have increased a bit.
I didn't have a chance yet to measure the TPS voltage when warm (0.79 when cold). Perhaps the TPS adjustment is the icing on the cake? I am not going to touch the engine until after the Assen TT. For now I do not miss the icing at all, the cake is already nearly perfect ;)

PS. Could it be harmful to the engine to ride around with an incorrect TPS value?

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4728
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:04 am

What is your TPS voltage at idle at operating temp?

Mich69
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:34 am
Country: The Netherlands
City: Amsterdam
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Mich69 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:21 am

kevxtx wrote:What is your TPS voltage at idle at operating temp?
I'll let you know when I get home after work. I am on the bike, should be a 2 minute job ;)

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4728
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:33 am

With the new idle speed your TPS voltage will be different.

Mich69
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:34 am
Country: The Netherlands
City: Amsterdam
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Mich69 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:44 pm

kevxtx wrote:What is your TPS voltage at idle at operating temp?
Hi kev, It is 0.66 volt at operating temp.
Should I change it?
Image

TuneECU shows me that it is idling at exactly 1420 rpm. I guess the tacho on my bike isn't that accurate.
Image

Tommy
125cc
125cc
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:58 pm
Country: Finland
City: Vasa
Year: 2009
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Tommy » Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:27 am

Hi Mich69,

Looks like your throttle bodies are not synced.

After syncing the throttle bodies my bike vibrates less and pulls smoother on low revs. However it also did no longer go immediately down to idle when releasing the throttle. It stayed at 2000rpm for a couple of seconds before dropping to idle. My TPS was then 0,63V at idle, engine warm. After adjusting it to 0,60V it now idles as before.

The TPS is really sensitive. I first adjusted it to 0,60V, tightened the TPS screw and the voltage changed to 0,58. I started the bike and it had no idle. Readjusted the sensor to 0,60V with screw tightened and everything was fine.

Im tuning Kevs #20 map for my bike at the moment using a wideband lambda and I noticed that syncing the throttle bodies had a big impact on the rear cylinder lambda value at low throttle openings (0-10%). Lambda changed from 13,5 to 14,5-15 after syncing. Adjusting the TPS did not seem to have any noticeable effect. Difference between throttle bodies before syncing was about 30hPa.

Correct me if Im wrong but based on this there is a risk of running either lean or rich on rear cylinder if you are using a map made with synced throttle bodies and you throttle bodies are not synced.

Mich69
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:34 am
Country: The Netherlands
City: Amsterdam
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Mich69 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:53 am

Hi Tommy,

Thanks for your analysis! I have read this forum and others extensively and realized along the way that the TPS voltage/setting is crucial and listens very carefully.
I guess that if you load a customized fuel map, you should also know what the TPS voltage was of the bike it was made for. Imho setting up your bike starts with adjusting the TPS level to the right value at operational temperature, prior to any fuel modification.

I can only concur with what you say about the throttle bodies. I saw they were not in tune but didn't realize that the effect can be disastrous. I guess a lack of time is a good and poor excuse to ignore certain parameters.

So I have got homework to do: Adjust the TPS value and sync the throttle bodies do a 15 minute reset.
Now I need to find the time to do it which I really haven't got as busy family man with a career ;)
Apperently there's a very good KTM dealer (Verpalen) close to where I live, they race them as well. So I am going to ask them to setup my bike properly, including the suspension.
I hope they are not insisting my bike to be put on a Dyno or load their own fuel map as it will eat my back tyre and wallet too.
Been there too many times, a nice Dyno graph is not a guarantee at all for a smooth ride on the road.
I'll keep you all posted!

Jnberr0
50cc
50cc
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:30 pm
Country: United States
City: Louisville
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Jnberr0 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:41 pm

Apologies for this being my first post, but after diving into this thread, I'm still not sure I've found my answer:

I've got a 2010 SMT with akra slip-ons (baffles in), SAS and canister removed, Rottweiler intake and akra map. Bike runs great overall, and much better than stock, but still a little snatchy down low. I'm wondering if there's anything to gain with a custom tuneecu map. I really don't want to get into removing the secondary flies or pulling the baffles (those things are LOUD! :D ). Just wondering if there's any more power to be had or if I can clean up the fueling down low. And if so, which custom map on this site is best for my desired set up? All of the maps I can find on here are for bikes with the 2nd flies and baffles removed.

Any advice would be appreciated!!

Tommy
125cc
125cc
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:58 pm
Country: Finland
City: Vasa
Year: 2009
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Tommy » Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:59 am

Mich69 wrote: I have read this forum and others extensively and realized along the way that the TPS voltage/setting is crucial and listens very carefully.
I guess that if you load a customized fuel map, you should also know what the TPS voltage was of the bike it was made for. Imho setting up your bike starts with adjusting the TPS level to the right value at operational temperature, prior to any fuel modification.
At least for proper idling TPS seems to be crucial. I didn't see any major change in lambda when I adjusted TPS from 0,63V to 0,60V.
Mich69 wrote: I can only concur with what you say about the throttle bodies. I saw they were not in tune but didn't realize that the effect can be disastrous.
I think you would notice if the bike was running very lean so I don't think it is that disastrous. In addition this is mostly affecting smaller throttle openings.
Mich69 wrote: So I have got homework to do: Adjust the TPS value and sync the throttle bodies do a 15 minute reset.
Now I need to find the time to do it which I really haven't got as busy family man with a career ;)
On a bike with open air filter all screws are accessible. On a bike with stock air filter box it is a bit more work, because both screws(TPS and throttle sync) are inside the air filter box.

Tommy
125cc
125cc
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:58 pm
Country: Finland
City: Vasa
Year: 2009
Colour: Black & Orange

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Tommy » Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:04 am

Jnberr0 wrote: I've got a 2010 SMT with akra slip-ons (baffles in), SAS and canister removed, Rottweiler intake and akra map.
Hi Jnberr0,

Tuneencu map #1 on page 1 seems to match your bike. Why don't you want to remove the second flies? It is a simple procedure. Just remove the tank and the air filter. Then unscrew the two screws holding the throttle plate and leave the shafts in. You would have more maps to choose from with the flies removed. I think most of the maps are made with baffles in.

Magic Wand
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 8:40 am
Country: Sweden
City: Sthlm
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Magic Wand » Fri Jul 07, 2017 4:23 pm

Maybe because "Jnberr0" dosn´t want to listen to the intake sound (noise) :-)
I had the secondary flies removed and the intake sound is very much noticeable. I mostly use ear plugs so I don´t care that much.

/M

User avatar
jhalfhide
675cc
675cc
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:39 pm
Country: United Kingdom
City: East Sussex
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange
Contact:

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by jhalfhide » Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:40 pm

I find the intake noise addictive. That's what I tell the police anyway...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Now: 2013 KTM 990 SMT
Old: 2010 Ducati Faultistrada 1200s (Broke)
Old: 2007 Yamaha R1 (Sold)
Old: 2009 KTM 990 SMR (Stolen)
Old: 2008 Ducati 848 (Written off... whilst parked :roll: )
Old: 2007 ZX6R (Written off... elderly driver)
Old: 1996 ZX6R (Sold)

User avatar
Winterwolf
250cc
250cc
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 10:55 pm
Country: England
City: Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Year: 2013

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Winterwolf » Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:25 pm

I'm getting my smt in with JD Warrington later this month on the dyno for a tune.

Am I better getting the secondary flies out?... I've heard people say they should be left in and vice versa.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

User avatar
jhalfhide
675cc
675cc
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:39 pm
Country: United Kingdom
City: East Sussex
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange
Contact:

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by jhalfhide » Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:09 pm

Winterwolf wrote:I'm getting my smt in with JD Warrington later this month on the dyno for a tune.

Am I better getting the secondary flies out?... I've heard people say they should be left in and vice versa.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
I've taken mine out and think it greatly improved my corner entry as it doesn't engine brake as much.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Now: 2013 KTM 990 SMT
Old: 2010 Ducati Faultistrada 1200s (Broke)
Old: 2007 Yamaha R1 (Sold)
Old: 2009 KTM 990 SMR (Stolen)
Old: 2008 Ducati 848 (Written off... whilst parked :roll: )
Old: 2007 ZX6R (Written off... elderly driver)
Old: 1996 ZX6R (Sold)

User avatar
Winterwolf
250cc
250cc
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 10:55 pm
Country: England
City: Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Year: 2013

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Winterwolf » Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:35 pm

Hmm decisions decisions.. I quite like my engine breaking, annoys my mates as I never have to brake.. Plus saves on pads :lol:

Any performance benefits?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jnberr0
50cc
50cc
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:30 pm
Country: United States
City: Louisville
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Jnberr0 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:31 pm

Thanks for the advice, all. I may just try the Rottweiler fueling dongles first, just to richen up the bottom end a bit. If that doesn't help, I'll dive in to TuneECU world and try of of the suggested maps. Good to know the 2nd flies aren't a hard process. That does open things up a bit in terms of options.

Thanks again!

Post Reply