990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Here be mechanigeeks. Anything technical that is not a teething problem.
User avatar
jhalfhide
675cc
675cc
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:39 pm
Country: United Kingdom
City: East Sussex
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange
Contact:

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by jhalfhide » Thu May 18, 2017 7:21 pm

Magic Wand wrote:Thank´s "jhalfhide"
Sent you an email.

/M
And responded [THUMBS UP SIGN]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Now: 2013 KTM 990 SMT
Old: 2010 Ducati Faultistrada 1200s (Broke)
Old: 2007 Yamaha R1 (Sold)
Old: 2009 KTM 990 SMR (Stolen)
Old: 2008 Ducati 848 (Written off... whilst parked :roll: )
Old: 2007 ZX6R (Written off... elderly driver)
Old: 1996 ZX6R (Sold)

Nordic09
250cc
250cc
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:32 pm
Country: Finland
City: Helsinki
Year: 2011
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Nordic09 » Thu May 18, 2017 8:57 pm

I needed to use later other PC, since first with laptop win10 stopped connecting Lonelec properly.
KTM SMT 2010 (Rottweiler and map in, secondaries, SAS and O2 off)
Ducati Multistrada S 2011
ex Triumph Street Triple R 2013 (too little torque)
ex Triumph Street Triple R 2011 (stolen)
ex Honda CR125 1989
ex Suzuki RG125 1985
ex Yamaha YZ80 1987

Magic Wand
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 8:40 am
Country: Sweden
City: Sthlm
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Magic Wand » Thu May 18, 2017 9:19 pm

Hi

I use Windows 7 on a PC laptop (Lenovo ThinkPad).

Tried again tonight to save the current map. It says that is already saved and ask if I want to replace it. I did so.
It seams to be this one: 3. KM626EU1102001Map. That one is for SMT 2011 and Not 2010 as my bike is. It should be KM626EU1002001Map for the 2010 model. Strange isn´t it?!
Can´t remebmer I have dowloaded that map from any website or so...

Then tried ECU -> Download. But I don´t get the chance to choose any map, the system starts imediately to save the current map (3. KM626EU1102001Map) and I don´t understand why.

So I decided to go with the map for the 2011 model.
Made 15 minutes idle reset, and turned of.
Started again and drove for 10 minutes. Seams to be no problem.

Am I doing something stupid that run the bike with the map for the 2011 model?

/M

xaotikos
900cc
900cc
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:11 pm
Country: Greece
City: Athens
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by xaotikos » Fri May 19, 2017 9:01 am

Nope. Maps work for all versions as there are no engine changes through years


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nordic09
250cc
250cc
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:32 pm
Country: Finland
City: Helsinki
Year: 2011
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Nordic09 » Fri May 19, 2017 8:39 pm

That "smoothened map" works much better with stock set-up, without part mods.
KTM SMT 2010 (Rottweiler and map in, secondaries, SAS and O2 off)
Ducati Multistrada S 2011
ex Triumph Street Triple R 2013 (too little torque)
ex Triumph Street Triple R 2011 (stolen)
ex Honda CR125 1989
ex Suzuki RG125 1985
ex Yamaha YZ80 1987

Magic Wand
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 8:40 am
Country: Sweden
City: Sthlm
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Magic Wand » Fri May 19, 2017 9:14 pm

What "smoothened map" are you talking about "Nordic09"?

I have replaced the standard air filter with K&N, took of the "snorkle" (put a foam air filter piece to cover the hole), demounted the second flies. Nothing else at the moment.

I will testride a qiute far distance tomorrow and do evaluation.
I can already now tell you that the "sound" from the intake is Very Much noticeable.

/M

Nordic09
250cc
250cc
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:32 pm
Country: Finland
City: Helsinki
Year: 2011
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Nordic09 » Sun May 21, 2017 9:12 pm

#14 worked for me as stock set-up. Without secondaries, the #13 looks better.
KTM SMT 2010 (Rottweiler and map in, secondaries, SAS and O2 off)
Ducati Multistrada S 2011
ex Triumph Street Triple R 2013 (too little torque)
ex Triumph Street Triple R 2011 (stolen)
ex Honda CR125 1989
ex Suzuki RG125 1985
ex Yamaha YZ80 1987

User avatar
jhalfhide
675cc
675cc
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:39 pm
Country: United Kingdom
City: East Sussex
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange
Contact:

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by jhalfhide » Sun May 21, 2017 9:29 pm

13 was the map I ran before I went and did the airbox. I hadn't yet taken the secondary flies out though so it was exactly stock.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Now: 2013 KTM 990 SMT
Old: 2010 Ducati Faultistrada 1200s (Broke)
Old: 2007 Yamaha R1 (Sold)
Old: 2009 KTM 990 SMR (Stolen)
Old: 2008 Ducati 848 (Written off... whilst parked :roll: )
Old: 2007 ZX6R (Written off... elderly driver)
Old: 1996 ZX6R (Sold)

Magic Wand
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 8:40 am
Country: Sweden
City: Sthlm
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Magic Wand » Mon May 22, 2017 6:39 pm

Ok, I see.

#13. Remap Standard Bike Minus 2nd Flies.Hex
Standard pipes
Standard air box
Standard stacks
2nd flies removed & turned off, you need to remove your 2nd flies to use this map.
EPC turned off
SAS system on.
O2 sensors turned off
Idle lowered to 1410rpm
Rev limiter set to 9750rpm.
Only thing to do when using this map is remove your second flies, load map, 15 min reset.
Built by Kev in Brisbane on 95 Ron Fuel at sea level, 30C. 10.3.2013


If I get this right, the O2 sensors are shut of using this map? But... isn´t the catalytic converters in the silencers going to be damaged then?

Still, I havn´t found out; what is EPC?

And one more thing - do I ALWAYS have to do the 15 min idle reset after changing map to another?
-

I did a 400 km (aprox 250 miles) ride during the weekend, and the intake sound IS very noticeable, but as I´m always using ear plugs when driving for long tours I didn´t suffer at all from it. In fact I couldn´t hear it using ear plugs.

I have the original/stock map "installed" at the moment, and I woun´t change it until I replace silencers and/or do some other mods next time.

It is fun to drive having 44 t rear sprocket mounted! 8-)

/M

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Tue May 23, 2017 8:07 am

The cat's don't get damaged when the O2 sensors are flashed off, there are hundreds of us that have done it & still do it with no side affects.

EPC = Electronic Power Control is the retarding of the ignitions in the lower gears.

A map change requires a 15min reset otherwise it will take a few hundred kms for the ECU to relearn the new values. A changes within a map does not require a cold start adaption.

oktwister1
125cc
125cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:57 pm
Country: Malta
City: Mosta
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by oktwister1 » Tue May 23, 2017 9:40 pm

Hi all, I am new to this forum and would appreciate some help. About a month ago I bought a 2010 SMT and did not like the way the bike performed between 2000 rpm and 3500 rpm so I started doing some mods. These include 16 tooth front sprocket, SAS removed, O2 eliminators installed, 2nd flies and shaft removed, just installed ITG air cleaner and by the way it came with Akropovic cans and y pipe.
Closed throttle voltage on TPS is .74 V which I think is too high.
I was wondering which map would suit my setup best as I would really like bike to work as it should as I know it would be an awesome bike i I can get it set up properly.
Thanks in advance and I hope someone can help me sort this out.

oktwister1
125cc
125cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:57 pm
Country: Malta
City: Mosta
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by oktwister1 » Wed May 24, 2017 4:25 am

Further to my post above, I forgot to add that I also have 2 of the RC8 stacks so I can use one or both of these.

xaotikos
900cc
900cc
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:11 pm
Country: Greece
City: Athens
Year: 2013
Colour: Black & Orange
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by xaotikos » Wed May 24, 2017 6:23 am

You can use map #20 and try as it is or add max +1% from 2000 to 10000. Best mod for low down revs and on-off response is the throttle tube mod referred in this forum combined with other mods and good map. Custom map is of course always better


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

oktwister1
125cc
125cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:57 pm
Country: Malta
City: Mosta
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by oktwister1 » Thu May 25, 2017 4:38 am

Hi Xaotikos, Thanks for your reply. Yes i agree that a custom map would be best. I just want to do all mods necessary before I get the bike dyno tuned so this would be a temporary map.

Nordic09
250cc
250cc
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:32 pm
Country: Finland
City: Helsinki
Year: 2011
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Nordic09 » Sat May 27, 2017 9:45 pm

Tested the bike in free dyno yesterday, it gave 115 hp from back wheel. I think it is pretty decent with stock pipes. Some where also saying that this specific dyno gave couple of hp's less than others. Going to get full graph later.
KTM SMT 2010 (Rottweiler and map in, secondaries, SAS and O2 off)
Ducati Multistrada S 2011
ex Triumph Street Triple R 2013 (too little torque)
ex Triumph Street Triple R 2011 (stolen)
ex Honda CR125 1989
ex Suzuki RG125 1985
ex Yamaha YZ80 1987

oktwister1
125cc
125cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:57 pm
Country: Malta
City: Mosta
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by oktwister1 » Sun May 28, 2017 10:04 pm

Hi guys, I am very disappointed with my newly acquired 2010 SMT. My mods are mentioned a few posts before this. Anyway after just installing a new ITG filter, I installed map 20 and did the 15 minute idle. I do not know what I did wrong but after all the excitement of having a better bike, I was sorely disappointed as the bike kept stalling when changing from 1st to second gear no matter what I did. The bike is totally unrideable as it is - in fact I ended up pushing it a hundred metres or so back home. Before installing map 20, I adjusted TPS voltage from .74V down to .64V with bike off and ignition on. I am not interested in HP gains - only in a bike that works well in lower gears.
I have followed some of KEVXTX mods and I thank him for sharing all his mods with everyone. Kev, if you are reading this, some help would be greatly appreciated as I do not know how to solve this problem. At the moment I am feeling quite stupid as I never expected bike to end up working so badly after all the time, effort and money I have invested to make it work better.
Hope that Kev or someone more mechanically minded than me might help me out as I love this bike.
Thanks.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Mon May 29, 2017 9:06 am

After you have changed the TPS voltage have you carried out the idle adaption in Tune ECU?

Were the second flies removed? Have you load the STD map back in?

oktwister1
125cc
125cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:57 pm
Country: Malta
City: Mosta
Year: 2010
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by oktwister1 » Mon May 29, 2017 3:23 pm

Hi Kev, Thanks for your reply. These are the mods I have done so far; SAS removed, 2nd flies and shaft removed, TPS adjusted from .074 to .064V, ITG air cleaner, 16 tooth front sprocket, 02 sensors elimination kit installed and it came with Akropovic cans and Y pipe, LC8 front and factory rear stacks installed but can change as have 2 of each.
Now to answer your question, after TPS adjust I did not carry out idle adaption in tune ECU as I did not know I had to. Could you please explain.
I am using 95 fuel at the moment but 98 is available too - which would you recommend ?
I thank you for helping me and countless others in my situation.
When I sort out this obstinate stallion, I will be getting it dyno tuned but want to get it working well first.
Thanks again.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4739
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Tue May 30, 2017 10:58 am

You only need to do the idle adaption if you have idle problems, as you have adjusted the TPS voltages the ECU still sees the old TPC values, relearn them through Tune ECU program so the ECU knows where the new settings are.

I always recommend a custom Dyno map as it gives the best results.

Mich69
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:34 am
Country: The Netherlands
City: Amsterdam
Year: 2012
Colour: Black
Model: SMT

Re: 990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Mich69 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:48 am

Hi all, what a great topic this is and thank you Kevin and others for putting so much effort in! Really amazing the knowledge you have.
I am afraid I am a well willing amateur and need some advice or perhaps some reassurance :lol:

Last evening I removed the secondary flies and loaded map #13. My SMT from 2012 is completely stock.
When looking at the test parameters I noticed that my TPS voltage is at 0.79 Volt in a cold state. It seems to be way off.
Before I am going to be doing the 15 minute reset, I have a few thoughts of which I hope you experts can comment on.

Scenario 1:
When at operating temperature, I do not think that the TPS voltage will drop to the required bandwidth between 0.55-0.65 volt.
Should I already adjust the TPS value in advance prior to firing up the motor?
If so, what "cold" TPS value would you propose?

or.....


Scenario 2:
Should I fire up the bike (w/o a 15 min reset?) and than measure the TPS value once the motor has reached the operating temperature and than adjust the TPS value?
I guess if I alter the TPS value I need to reload the map again, and do the 15 min reset.
But I have read that I might also need to "reset" the TPS within TuneECU? I hope someone can explain in greater detail what to do in TuneECU after the TPS value has changed manually.

I have read Kevin's tutorial about how to adjust the TPS sensor. Silly question perhaps but is this by simply physically turning the sensor after loosening the screw or is the screw part of a potential meter?

I look forward hearing from you experts as I am dying to take my bike out for a spin this evening!
Cheers guys!

Post Reply